About Congressional District 9

About Congressional District 9

Due to population growth in the last decade, Arizona was awarded a ninth congressional district in the reapportionment process that occurred after the 2010 US Census.

Arizona’s congressional redistricting is performed by an independent redistricting commission, who drew the 9th district to be a competitive district in which neither major party has an advantage. The new congressional map has four safe Republican districts, two safe Democratic districts, and three competitive districts.

The district is wholly contained within Maricopa County and the Phoenix metro area. It is comprised of Tempe, Ahwatukee, West Mesa, South Scottsdale, and parts of Phoenix and Chandler.

David Schapira is the current State Senator from Legislative District 17 which is comprised of most of Tempe and South Scottsdale.

For the full map, please visit the Arizona Indepedent Redistricting Commission website.

Do you like this page?

Showing 2 reactions

@randeazie tweeted link to this page. 2012-04-14 18:14:39 -0700
@whansen8 Do you live in CD9? http://t.co/S4fFsT4w
published this page in About 2012-01-15 21:28:23 -0700